McDonald’s… I’m Not Lovin It

Image

So it was Monday night and naturally I attended quarter beers at Where Else. Around 12:30 I decided to stumble on down the hill to McDonald’s to use the five dollar gift card my grandmother got me for Easter. After waiting in a slow line for about ten minutes I finally got my turn to order some delicious treats. However, after placing my order (which was all written down on a blank piece of paper), I was then informed that their machines weren’t taking credit card or gift cards at the time, only cash. This is not the first occurrence I have run into at McDonald’s concerning this matter. For some reason they shut down their credit card machines late at night. I have only ever run into this problem in West Lafayette which probably provides a lot more late night business than most other areas. Infuriated and having no cash on me I was forced to leave without getting anything to eat.

It seems strange that the most successful restaurant in the world has trouble keeping their machines going at all hours that they are open. It is absolutely foolish in my opinion to shut down the credit card systems late at night. This company does not understand its target market. McDonald’s is a popular hangout for late night drunkards and without their credit card machines I would assume that they lose a lot of business. Not only that, but the most dominant restaurant in the world should cater to its customers at all times. In this case they should have provided me with the payment option of my choosing. Looks like I won’t be going to McDonald’s after any of my late night excursions anymore! 

Leave a Reply

